Castle Velhartice

Sušice – Dohaličky – Žikov – Částkov – Svojšice – Cihelna – Horní Staňkov – Velhartice – Drouhavec – Hory Matky Boží – Lešišov – Břetětice – Svojšice – Odolenov – Sušice

Place of interest:

Castle Velhartice  - was founded at the end of the 13th century by Bohemian nobleman Bohumil of Budětice, on the rock above the small river Ostružná. The castle with two palaces on the opposite sides connected with special tower "Donjon" with stone bridge which is unique in Europe. This bridge was Bušek´s work which was a chamberlain and friend of the famous Bohemian king Charles IV. In the 15th century the Velhartice castle became property of the lords of Hradec. They built second walls around the castle with bastions and watchtower. There were built dipstillary and brewery on the lower courtyard. In the 17th century Martin de Hoeff Huerta built a renaissance palace between the Southern palace and the Paradise palace.

Look-out tower Svatobor - the present look-out tower (built in 3 months) was opened on 12. 8. 1934, and the chalet was opened in 1935 the look- out tower is 31.6 m high (871 m above sea level) with 182 steps offering wonderful panoramic
views of the Šumava Mountains.